Research of Members

Toman Barsbai, Dieter Lukas and Andreas Pondorfer. Local Convergence of Behavior across Species. Science (2021)

Credit: Brian Wood

We find that foraging humans forage, reproduce, share parenting, and even organise their social groups in similar ways as surrounding mammal and bird species, depending on where they live in the world. Our results imply that local environments exert a key influence on how foraging human populations and non-human species behave, despite their very different backgrounds. Local environmental conditions select for similar foraging, social, and reproductive behaviors across human foragers and non-human animals, driving behavioral diversity worldwide.

Further Information

Axel Dreher, Andreas Fuchs, Bradley Parks, Austin Strange, and Michael J. Tierney (2021). Aid, China, and Growth: Evidence from a New Global Development Finance Dataset. American Economic Journal: Economic Policy, Volume 13, Issue 2, Pages: 1–40.

China has become a major source of global development finance, but the nature and consequences of its official financing activities are poorly understood. The absence of systematic evidence and rigorous analysis on the economic growth effects of Chinese development finance represents a major blind spot in the literature. This article introduces a new dataset of official financing from China to 138 developing countries between 2000 and 2014. This allows us then to investigate whether Chinese development finance affects economic growth in recipient countries. The results demonstrate that Chinese development finance boosts short-term economic growth. An additional project increases growth by between 0.41 and 1.49 percentage points two years after commitment, on average. These effects persist across different aid sectors and appear to be driven by increases in investment and - to a lesser extent - consumption. While this study does not find that significant financial support from China impairs the overall effectiveness of aid from Western donors, aid from the United States tends to be more effective in countries that receive no substantial support from China. Overall, this evidence should allay some of the fears that policymakers have expressed about China acting as “rogue donor” that undermines the effectiveness of Western assistance.

Further Information

Elías Cisneros, Krisztina Kis-Katos and Nuryartono, Nunung (2021): Palm oil and the politics of deforestation in Indonesia, Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jeem.2021.102453

This paper studies the interactions between political and economic incentives to foster forest conversion in Indonesian districts. Using a district-level panel data set from 2001 to 2016, we analyze variation in remotely sensed forest losses as well as measures of land-use licensing. We link these outcomes to political incentives arising before idiosyncratically-timed local mayoral elections as well as to price exposure measures based on oil palm soil suitability combined with global price variations for palm oil. Empirical results document increases of about 4% in deforestation in the year prior to local mayoral elections on average. Additionally, palm oil plays a crucial role in driving deforestation dynamics. Deforestation rates increase by 7% in places that experience a one standard deviation increase in local price exposure, but no upcoming elections. These effects are amplified to almost 19% larger forest losses in places that experience pre-election years and a standard deviation higher palm oil price exposure at the same time. We thus find clear evidence for economic and political incentives reinforcing each other as drivers of forest loss and land conversion for oil palm cultivation.

Further Information

Menusch Khadjavi, Kacana Sipangule Khadjavi, and Rainer Thiele (2021). Social Capital and Large-Scale Agricultural Investments: An Experimental Investigation. The Economic Journal, Volume 131, Issue 633, Pages 420–449

Following the 2007–2008 global food crisis, agricultural producers have invested in large tracts of land in developing countries. We investigate how the arrival of large-scale farms changes inter-personal trust and reciprocity, important components of social capital, in traditional Zambian villages. Using experimental methods, we elicit trust and reciprocal behaviour in villages that lie near large-scale farms and compare them with control villages at a distance. Our data reveal greater trust in villages close to large-scale farms, which is in line with communal coping as a response to the arrival of the large farms. Reciprocity is more frequent after farm employment, which points to reputation building.  

Further Information

Danzer, Alexander M., Robert Grundke (2020). „Export price shocks and rural labor markets: The role of labor market distortions.” Journal of Development Economics, 2020, Volume 145, 102464

Interview with a group of field workers in the Konibodom district in northern Tajikistan
© Robert Grundke

Can workers in developing countries take advantage of trade? Alexander M. Danzer (KU Eichstätt-Ingolstadt) and Robert Grundke (OECD) answer this question by using fluctuations in the world market price for cotton and identifying the effects of higher export prices on the wages of poor agricultural workers in the cotton harvest, using the example of Tajikistan. The increased demand for workers during the high price episode doubles wages for cotton pickers on small private farms, but has no impact on wages on large parastatal farms. The different treatment of workers is due to market power and the continued use of coerced labor in large companies during the cotton harvest, not least of school children and university students. The research concludes that trade produces winners and losers based on the political power relations between local decision makers and managers of parastatal farms.

Further Information

Heß, Simon, Dany Jaimovich, and Matthias Schündeln. "Development projects and economic networks: Lessons from rural Gambia." The Review of Economic Studies (2021)

The authors study the effect of participatory development projects on social and economic networks in rural villages in The Gambia. Participatory development projects actively involve villagers in financing and decision-making processes, intending to create more effective projects and to strengthen local institutions. These projects, in particular Community-Driven Development (CDD) projects, are a major form of international donor activity. As of March 2021, the World Bank alone supports 327 CDD projects in 90 countries, lending over 33 billion US$. Thus, it is important to understand the effects of such projects on local communities. Existing research on the intended effects of CDD projects is limited in breadth and typically finds moderate positive effects at best. At the same time, CDD projects risk having unintended negative effects, e.g. through their interactions with local power structures and decision-making mechanisms, or through unequally distributed benefits.

The authors first argue theoretically that the effects of CDD projects on decision-making processes and unequal economic outcomes can translate into effects on social and economic networks. To study the effect of CDD projects on networks empirically, the authors utilize the random allocation of a CDD project to villages in The Gambia. They collected detailed data on social and economic interactions in 56 villages, half of which had received CDD projects in the past. The central empirical finding is that the density of social and economic networks in program villages is lower than in non-program villages. Given the importance of these informal networks for risk-sharing (e.g., in case of an illness), the reduced density of networks implies a negative effect on expected household welfare. Further empirical analyses suggest that elite capture (i.e., the appropriation of project gains by village elites) contributed to the problem of unequally distributed benefits from the project, which in turn led to conflicts, thus weakening the networks. Overall, the results demonstrate possible unintended negative consequences of participatory development projects.

Further Information

“Is There a Rainbow after the Rain? How Do Agricultural Shocks Affect Non‐Farm Enterprises? Evidence from Thailand” (Katharina Grabrucker and Michael Grimm, both from the University of Passau), published in the American Journal of Agricultural Economics

The authors merged detailed household panel data from the TVSEP with grid‐level precipitation data to study the indirect effects of rainfall shocks on non‐farm enterprises in rural Thailand. They focus on both forward and backward linkages along the value chain as well as direct demand effects through farmer’s consumption. Overall, their analysis shows that the costs of agricultural shocks are higher than what much of the literature has suggested so far. Despite limited market integration in poor rural economies, the spill-overs are sizable and are transmitted through various channels. One implication is that safety nets targeted at farms may need to consider non‐farm enterprises too.

Further Information

Scroll to top
en_USEnglish

Forschung der Mitglieder

Toman Barsbai, Dieter Lukas and Andreas Pondorfer. Local Convergence of Behavior across Species. Science (2021)

Credit: Brian Wood

Die Studie zeigt, dass Menschen aus Jäger- und Sammlergesellschaften ihr Leben bei der Nahrungssuche, Fortpflanzung, Betreuung des Nachwuchses und sogar hinsichtlich ihres sozialen Umfelds ähnlich organisieren wie Säugetier- und Vogelarten, mit denen sie ihren Lebensraum teilen. Die Ergebnisse deuten darauf hin, dass lokale Umweltbedingungen das Verhalten von Menschen und nicht-menschliche Arten entscheidend beeinflussen und globale Unterschiede in Verhaltensmustern erklären können.

Weitere Informationen

Axel Dreher, Andreas Fuchs, Bradley Parks, Austin Strange, and Michael J. Tierney (2021). Aid, China, and Growth: Evidence from a New Global Development Finance Dataset. American Economic Journal: Economic Policy, Volume 13, Issue 2, Pages: 1–40.

China hat sich zu einer wichtigen Quelle der globalen Entwicklungsfinanzierung entwickelt, aber die Art und die Folgen seiner offiziellen Finanzierungsaktivitäten sind nur unzureichend bekannt. Das Fehlen systematischer Belege und rigoroser Analysen zu den Auswirkungen der chinesischen Entwicklungsfinanzierung auf das Wirtschaftswachstum stellt einen großen blinden Fleck in der Literatur dar. In diesem Artikel wird ein neuer Datensatz der offiziellen Entwicklungsfinanzierung Chinas an 138 Entwicklungsländer zwischen 2000 und 2014 vorgestellt. Dies erlaubt uns dann zu untersuchen, ob chinesische Entwicklungsfinanzierung das Wirtschaftswachstum in den Empfängerländern beeinflusst. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass chinesische Entwicklungsfinanzierung das Wirtschaftswachstum kurzfristig ankurbelt. Ein zusätzliches Projekt erhöht das Wachstum zwei Jahre nach der Zusage im Durchschnitt um 0,41 bis 1,49 Prozentpunkte. Diese Effekte bleiben über verschiedene Sektoren der Entwicklungshilfe hinweg bestehen und scheinen durch einen Anstieg der Investitionen und – in geringerem Maße – des Konsums getrieben zu sein. Während diese Studie nicht zu dem Ergebnis kommt, dass signifikante finanzielle Unterstützung aus China die Gesamtwirksamkeit der Hilfe westlicher Geber beeinträchtigt, ist die Hilfe aus den USA in Ländern, die keine substanzielle Unterstützung aus China erhalten, tendenziell effektiver. Insgesamt sollten diese Erkenntnisse einige der Befürchtungen zerstreuen, die von politischen Entscheidungsträgern geäußert wurden, dass China als „Schurkengeber“ die Wirksamkeit westlicher Hilfe untergräbt.

Weitere Informationen

Elías Cisneros, Krisztina Kis-Katos and Nuryartono, Nunung (2021): Palm oil and the politics of deforestation in Indonesia, Journal of Environmental Economics and Management, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jeem.2021.102453

Dieser Artikel untersucht die Wechselwirkungen politischer und wirtschaftlicher Anreize zur Abholzung in Indonesien. Auf Basis von Paneldaten auf Distriktebene von 2001 bis 2016 analysieren wir die Entwicklung von fernerkundeten Waldverlusten sowie die Vergabe von Landnutzungslizenzen. Wir verknüpfen diese Dynamiken mit politischen Anreizen, die vor idiosynkratisch getakteten Bürgermeisterwahlen entstehen; sowie mit lokalen Preisvariationen, die aus geoklimatischen Indizes und globalen Preisschwankungen für Palmöl berechnet werden. Die Ergebnisse dokumentieren eine um 4% höhere Abholzung im Jahr vor lokalen Bürgermeisterwahlen. Zusätzlich spielt Palmöl eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Entwaldungsdynamik. Die Abholzungsraten steigen um 7% an Orten, die um eine Standardabweichung stärker dem Preisanstieg für Palmöl ausgesetzt sind. Diese Effekte kumulieren gemeinsam zu fast 19% größeren Waldverlusten in Jahren vor Wahlen an Orten mit einem um eine Standardabweichung erhöhten Palmölpreisanreiz. Diese Ergebnisse liefern Belege dafür, dass sich wirtschaftliche und politische Anreize gegenseitig verstärken und signifikante Treiber in der Entwaldung für Ölpalmanbau sind.

Weitere Informationen

Menusch Khadjavi, Kacana Sipangule Khadjavi, and Rainer Thiele (2021). Social Capital and Large-Scale Agricultural Investments: An Experimental Investigation. The Economic Journal, Volume 131, Issue 633, Pages 420–449

Nach der globalen Nahrungspreiskrise 2007-2008 haben Investoren vermehrt große Landflächen in Entwicklungsländern erworben. Wir untersuchen an Beispielen aus Sambia, wie sich die Etablierung großer Farmen auf das interpersonelle Vertrauen und die Reziprozität – wichtigen Komponenten des Sozialkapitals – in umliegenden Dörfern ausgewirkt haben. Zu diesem Zweck vergleichen wir Dörfer in unmittelbarer Nähe zweier Großfarmen mit einer Kontrollgruppe weiter entfernt liegender Dörfer. Anhand von Experimenten können wir zeigen, dass in den Dörfern in der Nähe der Großfarmen das gegenseitige Vertrauen der Bewohner größer ist, was mit der Hypothese einer gemeinsamen Reaktion der Dorfbewohner auf die Ankunft der Großfarmen („Communal Coping“) vereinbar ist.  Reziprozität tritt häufiger auf, wenn Dorfbewohner auf der Großfarm beschäftigt sind. Dies weist auf den Aufbau von Reputation hin.  

Weitere Informationen

Danzer, Alexander M., Robert Grundke (2020). „Export price shocks and rural labor markets: The role of labor market distortions.” Journal of Development Economics, 2020, Volume 145, 102464

Interview mit einer Gruppe von Feldarbeiterinnen im Bezirk Konibodom im Norden Tadschikistans
© Robert Grundke

Können Arbeiterinnen in Entwicklungsländern Vorteile aus dem Handel ziehen? Um diese Frage zu beantworten, greifen Alexander M. Danzer (KU Eichstätt-Ingolstadt) und Robert Grundke (OECD) auf Fluktuationen im Weltmarktpreis für Baumwolle zurück und identifiziert die Auswirkungen höherer Exportpreise auf die Löhne armer Landarbeiterinnen in der Baumwollernte am Beispiel Tadschikistans. Die gestiegene Nachfrage nach Arbeitskräften während der Hochpreisphasen verdoppelt die Löhne für Baumwollpflückerinnen auf kleinen Privatfarmen, hat jedoch keinen Einfluss auf die Löhne auf großen (halb)staatlichen Farmen. Die unterschiedliche Behandlung der Arbeiterinnen ist auf Marktmacht und die weiterhin verbreitete Zwangsarbeit—nicht zuletzt von Schülerinnen und Studentinnen—in großen Unternehmen während der Baumwollernte zurückzuführen. Die Autoren schlussfolgern, dass Handel in Abhängigkeit von politischen Strukturen, bei denen lokale Politiker und Manager halbstaatlicher Unternehmen zusammenarbeiten, Gewinner und Verlierer produziert.

Weitere Informationen

Heß, Simon, Dany Jaimovich und Matthias Schündeln. „Development projects and economic networks: Lessons from rural Gambia.“ The Review of Economic Studies (2021)

Die Autoren untersuchen die Auswirkungen von partizipativen Entwicklungsprojekten auf soziale und ökonomische Netzwerke in Dörfern in Gambia. Partizipative Entwicklungsprojekte binden die Dorfbewohner aktiv in Finanzierungs- und Entscheidungsprozesse ein, mit dem Ziel, effektivere Projekte zu schaffen und lokale Institutionen zu stärken. Diese Projekte, insbesondere Community-Driven Development (CDD)-Projekte, finden sehr weite Anwendung in der internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.  Allein die Weltbank unterstützt 327 CDD-Projekte in 90 Ländern mit einem Kreditvolumen von über 33 Milliarden US$ (Stand 2021). Vor diesem Hintergrund ist es wichtig, die Auswirkungen solcher Projekte auf lokale (Dorf-)Gemeinschaften zu verstehen. Bestehende Forschungsarbeiten zu den beabsichtigten Wirkungen von CDD-Projekten sind in ihrer Breite begrenzt und finden typischerweise bestenfalls moderate positive Effekte. Gleichzeitig besteht bei CDD-Projekten die Gefahr, dass sie unbeabsichtigte negative Auswirkungen haben, z.B. durch ihre Wechselwirkungen mit lokalen Machtstrukturen und Entscheidungsmechanismen oder durch potenziell ungleich verteilte Nutzen.

Die Autoren zeigen zunächst aus einer theoretischen Perspektive, dass die Auswirkungen von CDDs auf Entscheidungsprozesse und ungleich verteilte Nutzen Auswirkungen auf soziale und ökonomische Netzwerke haben können. Um den Effekt von CDD-Projekten auf Netzwerke empirisch zu untersuchen, nutzen die Autoren die zufällige Zuteilung eines CDD-Projekts an Dörfer in Gambia. Sie sammelten detaillierte Daten über soziale und ökonomische Interaktionen in 56 Dörfern, von denen die Hälfte in der Vergangenheit CDD-Projekte erhalten hatte.  Das zentrale empirische Ergebnis ist, dass die Dichte sozialer und ökonomischer Netzwerke in Programmdörfern geringer ist als in Nicht-Programmdörfern. Angesichts der Bedeutung dieser informellen Netzwerke für die gegenseitige Absicherung (z.B. im Krankheitsfall) impliziert die geringere Dichte der Netzwerke einen negativen Effekt auf die erwartete Wohlfahrt der Haushalte. Weitere empirische Analysen deuten darauf hin, dass elite capture (d.h. die Aneignung von Projektgewinnen durch lokale Dorfeliten) zum Problem der ungleich verteilten Vorteile aus dem CDD-Projekt beigetragen hat, was wiederum zu Konflikten führte, und so die Schwächung der Netzwerke erklären kann. Insgesamt zeigen die Ergebnisse mögliche unbeabsichtigte negative Folgen von partizipativen Entwicklungsprojekten auf.

Weitere Informationen

“Is There a Rainbow after the Rain? How Do Agricultural Shocks Affect Non‐Farm Enterprises? Evidence from Thailand” (Katharina Grabrucker und Michael Grimm, beide Universität Passau), erschienen im American Journal of Agricultural Economics

Die Autoren untersuchen in dieser Studie die direkten und indirekten Effekte von Wetterextremen in Thailand. Insbesondere geht es um die Übertragung dieser Schocks entlang der Wertschöpfungsketten auf die Wirtschaftszweige, die vor bzw. hinter den Bauern liegen bzw. die über Arbeitsangebots- und Nachfrageeffekte durch die Bauern auf den Rest der Wirtschaft übertragen werden. Die Studie benutzt umfangreiche Haushaltspaneldaten des TVSEP über mehrere Jahre sowie detaillierte geo-codierte Regenfalldaten. Insgesamt zeigen die Ergebnisse, dass die Kosten landwirtschaftlicher Schocks höher sind, als von der Literatur bisher suggeriert wird. Trotz einer begrenzten Marktintegration im ländlichen Raum, sind die übertragenen Effekte recht spürbar und betreffen verschiedene Übertragungswege. Eine Implikation der Studie ist, dass soziale Sicherungsprogramme zur Abfederung von landwirtschaftlichen Schocks, auch den nicht landwirtschaftlichen Sektor im Blick haben sollten.

Weitere Informationen

Nach oben scrollen
de_DEDeutsch