Research Prize

The KfW Development Bank supports the German Economic Association’s Research Group on Development Economics in awarding the Research Prize for excellence in policy relevant research on developing countries.

The German Economic Association‘s Research Group on Development Economics requests nominations for the Research Prize. It is awarded during the annual meeting of the committee.

Every year four young researchers receive recognition for their work. The Research Prize honors academic work combining original research and practical relevance, thus giving fresh impetus for development cooperation. The prize is open to all domains of the social sciences. Innovative and interdisciplinary nominations are welcome, and so are unorthodox critical analyses bearing the potential to contribute to improving development policy.

The prize is awarded in two categories:

  • The Young Researcher Prize is presented for up to three doctoral theses.
  • The Prize for Scientific Excellence is granted in recognition of an outstanding publication in a respected scientific journal.

The Research Prize committee consists of Simone Dietrich (Universit├Ąt Genf), Gregor Dobler (University of Freiburg), Andreas Fuchs (University of Goettingen), Michael Grimm (University of Passau), Javier Revilla Diez (University of Cologne), Herman Waibel (University of Hannover) as well as the KfW Development Bank.

Award Announcement for the Research Prize 2020